Another People Story

It was, again, my first winter on the road in January 2009 and I was hanging out as far south in the Everglades as I could get, Flamingo Campground.  If you remember the winter of 2009 – 2010 you know that a lot of us were questioning global warming since it was a deep freeze and snow across most of the country.  In fact one January day, there was snow on the ground in every state except Hawaii.  Well, while biking and hiking around Flamingo I met a couple from North Carolina, Mike and Sherri.  Having lived in Carolina for a while myself I, of course, struck up a conversation.  Mike is a kind of laid back dry humor sort of person and Sherri is the artistic one in the family.  They both are retired engineers and were just a whole lot of fun to be around.  I spent time with them at Flamingo and then ran into them again later on at Long Pine Key Campground.

It was about 6 months later while I was camping at Badin Lake in the Uwharrie National Forest that the “serendipity” part of the story happens.  While sitting outside my tent the first day there what do I hear but someone call my name.  Yep, it was Mike and Sherri.  They had been following my travels on the BLOG and knew where I was.  So they just stopped by to visit.  It seems that they lived just a few miles from where I was camping.  Since they were home for a few days (they spend a lot of time on the road in their RV) I had a chance to visit them at home and see some of Sheri’s great art work and listen to some of Mike’s great stories.

Just another reason why I loved travelling!

This entry was posted in Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

